one day (and year) at a time

2013 rang in while I was working on a composition deadline
and the rest of my family were tucked soundly in their beds.
My New Year’s celebration (or lack of) may seem a bit boring
but my heart was filled with anticipation and wonder.

With the start of this new year I have a lot to be excited about:

– My son Archer turned one year old and received his first haircut :’)

– I was interviewed by artist, designer, and architect Corissa Nelson.
We talked about 
how women find time to be creative, especially moms.

– I completed my composition, Point Me To The Skies, for Martin Luther College’s wind symphony

– AND launched Holy Hen House, where friends and I are writing a Christian women’s blog
check it out!

New Year2

Do you remember how I posted about making goals with deadlines and sticking to them?
Well – I should have added – don’t put all the deadlines in the same week. Haha!
I have to admit I didn’t get much sleep and even stayed up as late (or early?) as 5:30am.
BUT I met all my deadlines and am working towards a whole new set of goals
that I could not have imagined one year ago.
How awesome!

With all of these opportunities I have to remind myself to discern my priorities.
What is God’s will? What is first? Him – the one thing needful.

Now listen, you who say, “Today or tomorrow we will go to this or that city,
spend a year there, carry on business and make money.”
Why, you do not even know what will happen tomorrow. What is your life?

You are a mist that appears for a little while and then vanishes.
Instead, you ought to say, “If it is the Lord’s will, we will live and do this or that.”

James 4:13-15

I have about 10 days to start and complete my Epiphany text and hymn
but as always I am taking it one day at a time. A day of His grace.

One thought on “one day (and year) at a time

  1. Oh Amanda, you love to go, go, go! I love all that you accomplish when you put your mind to it!
    You are absolutely right to remember to keep balance in your life. God first, family second, self third, then all the other stuff. 🙂

    Remember your body needs rest as well or it may just crash! Get some sleep, girl! (Says the fellow night owl).

Leave a Reply

