be on guard // hymn #2 melody

I sat at the piano pondering the words that Jesus said in Mark 13:5-11,

Jesus said to them: “Watch out that no one deceives you. Many will come in my name, claiming, ‘I am he,’ and will deceive many. When you hear of wars and rumors of wars, do not be alarmed. Such things must happen, but the end is still to come. Nation will rise against nation, and kingdom against kingdom. There will be earthquakes in various places, and famines.

These are the beginning of birth pains. You must be on your guard.

You will be handed over to the local councils and flogged in the synagogues.

On account of me you will stand before governors and kings as witnesses to them.

And the gospel must first be preached to all nations.

Whenever you are arrested and brought to trial, do not worry beforehand about what to say. Just say whatever is given you at the time, for it is not you speaking, but the Holy Spirit.”

While thinking on the words Jesus spoke for the Reformation hymn I began playing the piano in d minor. As I progressed to Jesus’ words on not worrying and being His witnesses I couldn’t help but turn tonally and lift the verses to d minor’s relative major key – F! I like how this melody reflects the text and am anticipating to compose the rest of the voices this week.

I attempted the recording below while my children were sleeping and I was holding a bit back

– but feel free to sing along!

Unauthorized copying, duplication or alteration of this composition is a violation of laws.

2 thoughts on “be on guard // hymn #2 melody

  1. Amanda–
    So nice to hear you singing again! I really like the melody of this hymn–very singable! 🙂 I’m curious what you use to record yourself sing–it comes across really clear.
    Blessings to you and your family!

    • Thank you Kathy! I recorded myself using the internal microphone on my mac desktop. It helps that we have hardwood floors and elevated ceilings but having the kids sleeping just 10 feet away is a bit of a challenge. Maybe I’ll have Frank take them out for a walk the next time I record so I can sing with full support. ha!

Leave a Reply

